top of page

WINTER '17/18 FAVORITES


Hey beauties and happy spring coming! I may be late a bit with this one but because it still feels like winter outside I want to share with you my winter beauty favorites.


There are not that many of them but I’m a strong believer that if you claim a product to be your favorite you should use it regularly, enjoy it every time and be ready to buy a backup. That’s what real love is, folks, not just the necessity to talk about something. So here you have it, crème de la crème of the last season for me.


I don’t know about you but for me winter equals dryness everywhere. Especially unprotected skin parts like face and hands (gloves are either lost or forgotten). My cosmetologist recommended me to try urea containing products and I decided on trying really inexpensive Isana Med products.

This hand cream became a revelation for me. Revelation of soft hands in cold months. It gets rid of dry patches after the first use, nourishes the skin and first of all protects them. It kind of works as a barrier and prevents your skin from losing some water in it. Hand cream is a bit richer but lotion is just perfect for the body because it sinks in very quickly, you don’t have to wait to get dressed, but skin remains to be well nourished during a lot of hours. Those two products will last you a long time because a little bit goes a long way. This series is also not scented at all.


Let’s talk about face a bit. This January surprisingly for myself I realized that I may have dry patches even on my face. My oily skin didn’t warn me about that. But cold wind did it job well so I needed a SOS products to get rid of flakes on my skin. I chose The Body Shop Vitamin E serum in oil and it turned out to work for me as good as it was even possible. It smoothed my skin after the first use, nourished it very well, and made it look plump and juicy without clogging my pores. After a week of using I didn’t need it anymore, my skin was restored and balanced. So from now on it will always be on my winter survival kit list.


That time I also had to change my face cleaning routine for something creamier. I’ve chosen Declare Soft Cleansing Gel as it was claimed to thoroughly clean the skin without causing irritation, rednesses or dryness. And it was a win number two. It’s so gentle on the face, even to remove eyes makeup with, even on the irritated skin areas. I would basically use it to a wash a baby with if I needed to. So for my rough frost and wind loved face it was a great item not to ban cleansing products from my routine.


To clean my body I’ve fallen back in love with my favorite shower oil, Yves Rocher Traditions de Hammam Oriental. It’s thick shower product with some Moroccan oil in it and other moisturizing components to keep moisture in your skin. You may even skip the lotion after if your skin is not particularly dry. It’s rich and nourishing, very comfortable to use. And know just listen to me. It has divine scent. Not your regular nice and pleasant scent, not the one you won’t distinguish from abundance after you’ve stopped using it, but divine god-created scent. It’s oriental, spicy and warming. It gives you comfort. I’m not a religious person but I believe it’s what a man feels like after being hugged by god.


One more olfactory favorite and this one is also from Yves Rocher. So Elixir Bois Sensuel is voluptuous, sensual and woody perfume. It’s strong, has a lot of Patchouli notes combined with Vanilla and Iris. Cold weather perfume I would say as it is very warming and longwearing. People will feel you are coming.


Speaking of makeup I would like to start with kind of a in the middle product. Something between finishing serum and primer. This is Kiko Blooming Glow serum. I wouldn’t actually use it as a part of my skincare because it doesn’t have enough of good ingredients in it. But I like that it creates very thin layer make up just sticks to very easily. It makes it more longwearing keeping skin moisturized and plump and also makes dry patches invisible so for me it was perfect for winter time.


The face powder I loved even more than my trusty Bourjois Healthy Mix Powder is the one from Pupa. Like a Doll Powder is very finely milled. It creates a nice even layer that looks quite naturally even when applied heavily. It has kind of a satin finish, neither matt nor dewy, the one that basically looks like a flawless porcelain doll face. It keeps skin matt throughout the day without looking cakey or heavy. Pardon my French but I’m in love AF.


Two lipstick or should I say lip crayons that gained a citizenship in my heart are from Bourjois and it’s their Color Boost lip crayons in the shades Russian Plum and Red Sunrise. Both of them have creamy gel like texture that moisturizes your lips and keeps them hydrated for a long time.

It doesn’t exaggerate dry patches on your lips leaving nice hint of color. The good thing about those is that you may make it look as opaque as you want. It looks nice applied even in three layers but you most likely not gonna need that as it’s quite pigmented and even dabbing is enough to have a color on your lips. The drawback is that it may make lines around your lips more visible, it gets into them if you apply a generous layer so keep that it mind. But in general I suppose that those are pretty nice better than lipbalm things for quick and easy everyday makeup looks.


We still have banks of snow outside so these favorites appear to be pretty appropriate. Hope you like some of this stuff and till the next one.

bottom of page